Ramstrom Wins the Battle, Moltz Wins the War at Sunoco World Series

October 20, 2014

Thompson, CT- Derek Ramstrom took advantage of a late race flat tire on Wayne Helliwell, JR’s Ford to claim his first victory with the Granite State Pro Stock Series (GSPSS) at the Sunoco World Series, presented by Xtramart, at Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park (TSMP). 


Helliwell, JR and Dillon Moltz led the field at the drop of the green, as Moltz, the Waterford, Connecticut driver, needed a top 10 finish to secure his spot atop the championship standings in the 2014 season. After Josh King hit the turn 1 wall at the start of the race, Helliwell, JR pulled away on the ensuing restart, and was poised to take his third win in the series.  Ramstrom, from West Boylston, Massachusetts kept Helliwell, JR in his sights, riding in the second spot.  Moltz was passed by Larry Gelinas and Matt Frahm, both with a chance at the title, as the two put pressure on the RB Performance team of Moltz. 


Bad luck would strike Helliwell, JR once more at TSMP, as the Dover, New Hampshire driver ran over debris, rendering the right front tire flat with just 4 laps remaining.  Ramstrom took advantage and grabbed the victory, but it was Dillon Moltz wearing the crown as the 2014 champion with a 6th place finish. 


A nearly out of breath Moltz said after the race “We really worked our butts off for this.  The adversity that we had to go through, we definitely deserved this.  I knew I had to be smart, put pride aside and let guys go, run my own race and just run the track.  Mark Brackett and Ricky Rolfe, these guys really deserved this championship.”


Ramstrom, who’s been on a tear as of late, winning the PASS 300 at Beech Ridge Speedway and the DAV Pro Stock race at Seekonk Speedway, ended the 2014 season with a bang.  “Wayne (Helliwell, JR) was phenominal,” spoke Ramstrom.  “I’m not sure I could have caught him.  We were way too loose, the stagger was way off, but we lucked out.”  Ramstrom, who also had his NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour car to run, was proud of his crew’s efforts.  “They worked extremely hard.  They’ve been thrashing for weeks trying to get ready for this race.” 


Both Frahm and Gelinas did everything they could to put themselves in position to challenge for the championship, just falling short.  Frahm took the second spot, with Gelinas in tow in third after both drivers started in the fourth row.  Brad Babb stayed hot grabbing fourth, and Jason Boyd survived an early race spin to finish fifth.  Moltz, Tommy O’Sullivan, Derek Griffith, Mike Parks, and George Bessette completed the top 10. 





POS (Start)          Driver                                   Hometown

1. (4)                      Derek Ramstrom              West Boylston, MA

2. (8)                      Matt Frahm                        Hampstead, NH

3. (7)                      Larry Gelinas                      Buxton, ME

4. (11)                   Brad Babb                           Windham, ME

5. (14)                   Jason Boyd                         Edgewater, FL

6. (2)                      Dillon Moltz                        Waterford, CT

7. (16)                   Tommy O’Sullivan            Wilbraham, MA

8. (23)                   Derek Griffith                    Hudson, NH

9. (19)                   Mike Parks                          Walpole, NH

10. (6)                   George Bessette              Danbury, CT

11. (22)                 Mike O’Sullivan                 Springfield, MA

12. (20)                 Ray Parent                          Tiverton, RI

13. (16)                 Billy Brady                           Marston Mills, MA

14. (15)                 Ron Smith                           Oakham, MA

15. (13)                 Adam Norton                    Ludlow, MA

16. (17)                 Mike Brightman                                Acushnet, MA

17. (18)                 Mike Mitchell                    Cumberland, RI

18. (12)                 John Salemi                        Nashua, NH

19. (1)                   Wayne Helliwell, JR         Dover, NH

20. (9)                   Jake Vanada                       Berkley, MA

21. (3)                   Reid Lanpher                     Manchester, ME

22. (21)                 Chris Lescenski                  Riverhead, NY

23. (24)                 Greg Nanigian                   Braintree, MA

24. (10)                 Jeff Connors                      Ellington, CT

25. (25)                 Josh King                             Vernon, VT


CONTINGENCY AWARDS                                              Winner

AR Bodies (Hard Luck)                                                    Wayne Helliwell, JR

Bond Auto Parts (Last car on lead lap)                     Mike Parks

Crazy Ed’s Powersports (Hard Charger)                  Derek Griffith

Draco Springs Award (Most positions gained)     Derek Griffith

Five Star Stock Car Bodies (5th place finisher)     Jason Boyd

MacLellan Metal Finishing (Heat #1 Winner)        Derek Ramstrom

MacLellan Metal Finishing (Heat #2 Winner)        Reid Lanpher

MacLellan Metal Finishing (Heat #3 Winner)        Dillon Moltz

Racer’s Depot (Random drawing)                             Wayne Helliwell, JR

RB Performance (4th place finisher)                        Brad Babb

RB Performance (7th place finisher)                        Tommy O’Sullivan

Sherwood Wheels (10th place finisher)                 George Bessette

Sunoco Race Fuels (Heat #1 Winner)                       Derek Ramstrom

Sunoco Race Fuels (Heat #2 Winner)                       Reid Lanpher

Sunoco Race Fuels (Heat #3 Winner)                       Dillon Moltz



Moltz Photo by Matty Wiernasz

Ramstron Photo By Mary Hodge

Please reload

Recent Posts
Please reload

Search By Tags

I'm busy working on my blog posts. Watch this space!

Please reload

Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic

©  2018 Granite State Pro Stock Series