top of page

Griffith Seals Championship in Breakout Season

Ramstrom Victorious in Bemer’s Super Bowl

WATERFORD, CT – Derek Griffith puts the exclamation point on his breakout season, becoming the fourth different champion of the Granite State Pro Stock Series, as Derek Ramstrom grabs the win in the Bemer’s Super Bowl 150 at New London-Waterford Speedbowl.

Barry Gray and Mike O’Sullivan led the field to the green, with Gray needing a win to have a shot at knocking off Derek Griffith for the 2015 season crown. Gray would lead until lap 4, when the first of twelve cautions came out for an incident between Billy Joerres and Roger Oxee. D.J. Shaw would eventually overtake the lead, and set a blistering pace, as Griffith and Ramstrom kept within striking distance.

While Shaw continuously kept Griffith at bay on restarts, Ramstrom took notes, and overtook Shaw the first chance he had on the front row of a restart. Shaw would continue to pressure Ramstrom, until breaking a rear end on lap 81, ending his day early. Griffith would get the chance to attack Ramstrom again, but could not finish the job, as Ramstrom powered away for the victory.

After the race, Ramstrom spoke about the facility, saying “This is an awesome place to run a Pro Stock. I hope to come back here next year.”

Ramstrom continued, “It’s a shame D.J. [Shaw] broke, I think he was definitely a contender for the lead. Derek Griffith had a great year. He had a great year, and has a lot of talent.”

Griffith would settle for the second spot, which secured the championship for the Hudson, NH resident. Griffith exclaimed, “I’m in shock still. I’m really happy with my team. Louie [Mechalides] set up a stout car all year. My whole team is excellent. At this point, I don’t think there’s a lot of teams better than our team. Everyone is so supportive, it’s huge, how into racing they are, and how much they believe in me.”

Gray would fight back through the field to take the third spot, and second in the overall standings. Nick Cusack battled adversity all day, including changing a clutch after practice, to finish fourth, with Tommy O’Sullivan surviving to claim the fifth spot. Former modified driver Jeff Pearl nabbed the sixth spot, Zig Geno climbed to seventh, with Scott Kulesa finishing eighth. Dillon Moltz, who was involved in an incident on lap 82, and pitting late for fuel, would salvage a ninth place finish, with Mike Parks rounding out the top ten. Cory Casagrande and Moltz would pick up qualifying heat wins.

The Granite State Pro Stock Series will hold an informational meeting on Saturday, November 28, at the Clubhouse at Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park, at11AM. For more information on the Granite State Pro Stock Series, visit



New London-Waterford Speedbowl


Pos (Start) Driver Hometown

1. (13) Derek Ramstrom West Boylston, MA

2. (7) Derek Griffith Hudson, NH

3. (1) Barry Gray Belchertown, MA

4. (8) Nick Cusack Scarborough, ME

5. (14) Tommy O’Sullivan Wilbraham, MA

6. (18) Jeff Pearl Salem, CT

7. (17) Zig Geno Canterbury, NH

8. (20) Scott Kulesa Georgetown, MA

9. (6) Dillon Moltz Waterford, CT

10. (11) Mike Parks Walpole, NH

11. (2) Mike O’Sullivan Springfield, MA

12. (9) Larry Gelinas Buxton, ME

13. (12) Joe Squeglia, Jr. Derry, NH

14. (4) D.J. Shaw Center Conway, NH

15. (16) Jake Vanada Berkley, MA

16. (22) Mike Mitchell Cumberland, RI

17. (5) Cory Casagrande Stafford Springs, CT

18. (19) Ray Christian III Groton, CT

19. (15) Josh King Vernon, VT

20. (10) Jason Palmer Berlin, CT

21. (23) Roger Oxee Carmel, NY

22. (21) Billy Joerres Somerset, MA

23. (3) Jarrod Hayes Calverton, NY


AR BODIES (Hard Luck) 60 – D.J. Shaw

BOND AUTO PARTS (Last Car on Lead Lap) 57 – Zig Geno

BOND AUTO PARTS (Halfway Leader) 35 – Derek Ramstrom

DRACO SPRINGS (Most Positions Gained) 35 – Derek Ramstrom

FIVE STAR AUTO BODIES (5th Place) 16 – Tommy O’Sullivan

MACLELLAN METAL FINISHING (Heat 1 Winner) 5 – Dillon Moltz

MACLELLAN METAL FINISHING (Heat 2 Winner) 1 – Cory Casagrande


RB PERFORMANCE (3rd Place) 29 – Barry Gray

RB PERFORMANCE (7th Place) 57 – Zig Geno

SHERWOOD WHEELS (Most Laps Led) 35 – Derek Ramstrom

SUNOCO RACE FUELS (Heat 1 Winner) 5 – Dillon Moltz

SUNOCO RACE FUELS (Heat 2 Winner) 1 – Cory Casagrande

VDL FUEL SYSTEMS (5th Place) 16 – Tommy O’Sullivan

POWERTRAIN TECHNOLOGY (4th Place) 2 – Nick Cusack

COIL-OVER COMMANDER (Feature Winner) 35 – Derek Ramstrom

PRINZICISION RACING (Feature Winner) 35 – Derek Ramstrom

Photo Credit (Remember When Photography)

Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page