top of page

Dave Farrington Goes From Last To First To Win Waterford; Barry Gray Clinches 2016 Championship


When qualifying was scraped at Bemer’s Big Show because of rain, Dave Farrington was a little bit frustrated.

He had originally drawn the pole position for the second Granite State Pro Stock Series (GSPSS) heat race, but he ended up having to start in 29th position because the field was set by owner points for the 75 lap season finale.

When it was all set and done, Farrington was celebrating in victory lane on Saturday night after capturing his first GSPSS victory of the season.

“Back in 2013, we ran nine races here (at the Speedbowl) in the Late Model division and I think it took me about 20 laps to remember how to get around here today,” Farrington said. “We can’t control the rain. We found out we basically had to start last because of it and we just took our time and had some patience. Going from 27th to first is a hard charger for sure.”

While Farrington tried to come from the rear, polesitter D.J. Shaw set the pace early on in the race. He was followed by Mike Mitchell and points leader Barry Gray in the early stages, with Gray trying to clinch the championship trophy.

Early caution flags flew on lap two, 10 and 14, but then the race went green all the way until lap 39. During that stretch, Shaw pulled away behind the wheel of his No. 60 and left the rest of the field in the dust.

When Craig Weinstein spun off turn two on lap 39, Shaw had a challenge from Gray on the restart, but was able to clear and drive away again before a caution with 27 laps to go. At the next restart, Shaw went back to the point and was at the top spot all the way until the complexion of the event changed with just nine laps to go.

When Shaw went to put a car a lapped down at the end of the frontstretch, contact was made to the right rear of Shaw’s car and things were never the same from there on out.

He backed up to the front bumper of Farrington and then a caution came out with seven laps to go. During the yellow, Shaw elected to head down pit road and get a tire changed because of the contact and it cost him a shot at the victory.

Farrington inherited the lead and ended up holding off Joe Squelglia in the final stages to take down the victory. Auburn, Mass. driver Angelo Belsito, the 2015 Seekonk Speedway Pro Stock champion, made his first appearance of the season and finished in third spot.

Rounding out the top five was Barry Gray and Seekonk regular David Darling.

With his fourth place finish, Gray clinched his first career GSPSS championship behind the wheel of his No. 29. Even though Gray didn’t win a race during the season, it was still enough to hold off Shaw to capture the big trophy.

“We had some low spots this year, the car wasn’t the greatest at some points. My guys worked really hard and my sponsors have backed me for years now,” Gray said.

“All championships are good, but this one here means a lot because of my guys, we have been together for so many years. We are all getting older and it means a lot to know you can still get it done.”

The Granite State Pro Stock Series season is now complete following the event at the New London-Waterford Speedbowl.

Stay tuned to the website,, for more information regarding the awards banquet and the 2017 schedule announcement in the coming months.

For more information on the series, follow the GSPSS on Facebook or email

Unofficial Race Results:

1. Dave Farrington

2. Joe Squeglia

3. Angelo Belsito

4. Barry Gray

5. David Darling

6. Mike Parks

7. Bobby Pelland

8. Nick Jenkins

9. Craig Weinstein

10. D.J. Shaw

11. Jarrod Hayes

12. Mike O’Sullivan

13. Zig Geno

14. Chola Shay

15. Greg Nanigian

16. Jeff Pearl

17. Jerry Dineen

18. Corey Bubar

19. Cory Casagrande

20. Mike Mitchell

21. George Bassette

22. Greg Clark

23. John Baker

24. Mike Scorzelli

25. Tommy O’Sullivan

26. Rusty Poland

27. Brandon Turbush

28. Guy Caron

29. Josh King

Contingency Winners: (Driver Name & Car Number, Award)

D.J. Shaw (60) -- AR BODIES (Hard Luck)

Joe Squeglia (03) -- Bond Auto Parts (2nd place)

Jeff Pearl (87) -- Bond Auto Parts (Last Car on Lead Lap)

Dave Farrington (7) – Coilover Feature Winner

Angelo Belsito (8) – Embroidery Expertee’s (3rd place)

David Darling (52) – Five Star Bodies (5th place)

Joe Squeglia (03) – Magnus Racing Products (2nd place)

Barry Gray (29) – Powertrain (4th place)

Angelo Belsito (8) – RB Performance (3rd place)

Bobby Pelland (12) – RB Performance (7th place)

Mike Mitchell (40) – Seymour Performance (Random Draw)

David Darling (52) – VDL Fuel Systems (5th place)

Dave Farrington (7) – The Racing Guys (1st place)

Joe Squeglia (03) – The Racing Guys (2nd place)

Angelo Belsito (8) – The Racing Guys (3rd place)

Mike Parks (66) – The Racing Guys (Random Draw)

Zig Geno (57) – The Racing Guys (Random Draw)


TRACK – New London-Waterford Speedbowl, Waterford, CT, 3/8 mile

RACE – Bemer’s Big Show 75

Time of Race – 51:31:051

Photo Credit (New London Waterford Speedbowl)

Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page