top of page

Connecticut Drivers Prevail At Waterford Speedbowl, Christian III Wins, O’Connell Clinches Champions



21 drivers took the green flag Saturday, October 20th at the New-London Waterford Speedbowl with two men from Connecticut ending up on top. Ray Christian III of nearby Uncasville, CT battled Ben Rowe of Turner, ME side by side in the closing laps to win at his home track. Devin O'Connell of Madison, CT overcame early adversity and multiple trips down pit road to finish 16th with barley any body work left on the #43 to clinch the 2018 series championship.

“This is what we had circled, last year we came hear and ran really good, but we wanted to come here and win really bad.” Christian III said. “You can't right a better story, [Crazy Horse Racing] has been like a second family to us, we just love those guys and we couldn't have done it without them. Starting sixth on the field Christian III saved his stuff in the early going. Eventually battling with Ben Rowe for a multitude of laps Christian pulled away after Rowe's car seemed to loosen up after a caution with 15 laps to go.

Earlier on in 2018 Devin O'Connell had plans to race a modified at the area Connecticut tracks but after consulting with his team they made a last minute decision to stick with their pro stock program and it surely was the right one. O'Connell finished 16th to clinch the title by just six points over second place in points Joey Doiron whom finished fourth. “I can't believe it, I don't think people understand that I don't bring much other then my family and friends” O'Connell said. “I never thought in a million years we would win this championship, we worked week in and week out, and this is the most amazing feeling on the planet.” O'Connell had an average finish of seventh in the 2018 season, with two victories, his first at the high banks of Hudson International Speedway and second at Monadnock Speedway. This is O'Connells 10th championship in his career.

Early on in the race it was the Ben Rowe show as the #4me held on to a three to five car length lead over second. As the race wore on so did Rowe's machine. Eventually settling for third and being passed by 16 year old Oxford Plains Speedway champion Gabe Brown of Center Conway, NH who finished second. Brown made a last lap hail mary attempt to take the lead on the outside of Christian III in turns three and four but didn't get the job done. Fourth was runner up in the 2018 championship Joey Doiron of Berwick, ME and 2017 champion Mike O'Sullivan of Springfield, MA rounded out the top five.

Official Results:

#93ct Ray Christian III

#47 Gabe Brown

#4me Ben Rowe

#73 Joey Doiron

#08 Mike O'Sullivan

#05 Jacob Dore

#52 David Darling

#88 Kevin Casper

#24m Scott MacMichael

#12p Bobby Pelland

#23 Dave Farrington Jr

#90 Craig Weinstein

#42b Corey Bubar

#7 Cory Casagrande

#72me Charlie Colby

#43 Devin O'Connell

#16b Brandon Barker

#18 Mike Scorzelli

#42w William Wall

#03 Joe Squeglia

#72c Guy Caron

For more information visit our website and follow our social media channels, Facebook, YouTube, and Twitter.

Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page