top of page

DAV Fall Classic up next for GSPSS

Seekonk Ma. - For the first time ever, the D. Anthony Vandetti Fall Classic at Seekonk Speedway will be a Granite State Pro Stock Series sanctioned event. This annual year-end race has been held since 1992 and features Pro Stocks headlining what is sure to be a fantastic afternoon of racing.

As race day approaches, excitement is building for both Seekonk regulars as well as GSPSS teams and staff. Series president Mike Parks stated, “We are honored to have been asked to be a part of this great event. We look forward to teaming up with the staff and teams from this historic race track and put on a great show”.

The last time the series visited the Massachusetts oval was in 2017 and hometown driver and multi-time track champion Dave Darling came out on top. Darling will try to go back to back in GSPSS appearances at his home track. When asked about the return of the series he said, “I think it’s great that the GSPSS is coming back to Seekonk. It will be interesting to see the difference between the series rules and the track rules and how the cars look and feel.” Darling went on to say, “I think it’s awesome that Seekonk has bonus money up for the top five Seekonk regulars as well, if someone can win without bump stops.”

As early entries roll into the GSPSS office, a strong contingent of 2019 Seekonk regulars have preregistered. Three of the top five in track points have entered to try their mettle against the regular GSPSS competitors. Ryan Vanasse, Kevin Casper, and champion Darling will try to continue solid 2019 seasons and add their names to the list of DAV winners.

Former Seekonk regular Bobby Pelland heads to his home track having run all but one series race in 2019. He currently sits seventh in the points and the team is improving every time they hit the track. “I’m pumped to go to both Seekonk and Thompson” said Pelland. “I think we’re starting to figure out the new car but we’ll find out during practice on Friday and bring out the old car on Saturday if we need to.”

Ryan Kuhn has filed his entry for the DAV and has quietly put together a solid season in 2019. The former late model standout at the third-mile oval has had a solid season of late model and pro stock competition and looks to continue that trend.

Other drivers with extensive Seekonk experience who have filed entries include Austin Blais, Kevin Folan, Mike Brightman, and Nick Lascuola.

Also joining the track regulars will be a strong group of series regulars. Series point leader Joey Doiron comes into the DAV with a healthy forty-six point lead over defending champion Devin O’Connell. Both drivers have filed entries for the race and look forward to taking their season long battle into Seekonk.

Doiron looks to maintain his lead in the standings at a track that hasn’t been his best. “I don’t mind Seekonk”, said Doiron, “I feel like we’ve never run to our capability so we’ll go and see what we can do”. Doiron went on to say, “I think it’s good for the series to go to tracks that run these cars weekly. It will bring in more cars that hopefully will run more races with the GSPSS in the future”.

Other series regulars who have entered this event are two time champion Mike O’Sullivan and 2017 champ Barry Gray who will get back in the seat after son Adam drove the 29 at Star Speedway. Jimmy Renfrew, Jr. has quietly put together a solid season while rookie driver Jake Matheson looks to continue his solid first campaign.

Seekonk Speedway will hold an open test for all competitors on Friday Sept. 27 with pits opening at noon and practice running from 1pm until 5pm. On Saturday pit gates will open at 9am with practice at 11am and racing beginning at 2pm. Competition for the pro stocks will include the Crazy Horse Racing Race For the Pole as competitors battle the clock for heat race starting positions, twelve lap heat races, and the one hundred lap DAV memorial.

For more information go to or check them out on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram. You can also go to the tracks web page at

Pre Entries (As of 9/23)

1) 73 Joey Doiron

2) 29 Barry Gray

3) 00 Jimmy Renfrew Jr.

4) 1x Todd Stone

5) 43 Devin O’Connell

6) 93 Ray Christian III

7) 21 Josh King

8) 08 Mike O’Sullivan

9) 14 Matt Frahm

10) 52 Jake Matheson

11) 46 Dennis Spencer Jr.

12) 16 Tommy Rosatti

13) 21 Jacob Perry

14) 8 Angelo Belsito

15) 16 Austin Blais

16) 52 David Darling

17) 72 Ryan Kuhn

18) 12 Bobby Pelland

19) 18 John Lowiniski-Loh

20) 88 Kevin Casper

21) 40 Mike Mitchell

22) 17 Kevin Folan

23) 27 Mike Brightman

24) 11 Ryan Vanasse

25) 90 Craig Weinstein

26) 48 Ryan Lineham

27) 39 Nick Lascuola

28) 17 Eddie MacDonald

29) 23 David Farrington

30) 59 Reid Lanpher

Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page